beijing china

First Call for Papers LaTeCH 2015

First Call for Papers

The 9th Workshop on Language Technology for Cultural Heritage,
Social Sciences, and Humanities (LaTeCH 2015) to be held in
conjunction with ACL-IJCNLP 2015.

July 30 2015
Beijing China

organized by SIGHUM:


** About the Workshop **

The 9th Workshop on Language Technology for Cultural Heritage, Social Sciences, and Humanities will be held in conjunction with ACL-IJCNLP 2015 which will take place in Beijing, China, July 26 – 31.

The LaTeCH workshop series aims to provide a forum for researchers who are working on developing novel information technology for improved information access to data from the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Cultural Heritage. Since the formation of SIGHUM (ACL Special Interest Group on Language Technologies for the Socio-Economic Sciences and Humanities), the LaTeCH workshop is also the venue for the SIGHUM annual research and business meeting.

The workshop is a continuation of LaTeCH 2007 held at ACL, in Prague, Czech Republic, LaTeCH 2008 at LREC, in Marrakech, Morocco, LaTeCH 2009 at EACL, in Athens, Greece, LaTeCH 2010 at ECAI, in Lisbon, Portugal, LaTeCH 2011 at ACL/HLT, in Portland, Oregon, USA, LaTeCH 2012 at EACL, in Avignon, France, LaTeCH 2013 at ACL, in Sofia, Bulgaria and LaTeCH 2014 at EACL in Gothenburg, Sweden.

** Scope and Topics **

The LaTeCH workshop series aims to provide a forum for researchers who are working on developing language technologies for the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Cultural Heritage. It is endorsed by the ACL Special Interest Group on Language Technologies for the Socio-Economic Sciences and Humanities (SIGHUM).

In the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Cultural Heritage communities there is increasing interest in and demand for NLP methods for semantic annotation, intelligent linking, discovery, querying, cleaning, and visualization of both primary and secondary data, which holds even for collections that are primarily non-textual, as text is also the pervasive medium used for metadata.

These domains of application entail new challenges for NLP research, such as noisy, non-standard textual or multi-modal input, historical languages, multilingual parts within one document, lack of digital semantic resources, or resource-intensive approaches that call for (semi-)automatic processing tools and domain adaptation, or, as a last resort, intense manual effort. Digital libraries still lack tools for content analysis; documents are linked mostly through metadata, and deep semantic annotation is missing.

For this reason, it is of mutual benefit that NLP experts, data specialists, and digital humanities researchers working in and across these domains get involved in the Computational Linguistics community and present their fundamental or applied research results.

This edition of the LaTeCH workshop is looking for, but not limited to, contributions from the following topics:

– Adapting NLP tools to Cultural Heritage, Social Sciences, and Humanities domains

– Dealing with linguistic variation and non-standard or historical use of language

– Linking and retrieving information from different sources, media, and domains

– Modelling of information and knowledge

– Automatic creation of semantic resources

– Automatic error detection and cleaning

– Complex annotation tools and interfaces

– Discourse and narrative analysis

– Research infrastructure and standardisation efforts

– Text mining and sentiment analysis

– User modeling, recommendation, personalisation

** Information for authors **

Authors are invited to submit papers on original, unpublished work in the topic areas of the workshop. In addition to long papers presenting completed work, we also invite short papers and system descriptions (demos):

– Long papers should present completed work and may consist of up to eight (8) pages of content, with two (2) additional pages of references.
– Short papers/demos can present work in progress, or the description of a system, and may consist of up to four (4) pages of content, with two (2) additional pages of references.
– All submissions are to use the ACL stylesheets (.sty, .bst, .dot)

The reviewing process will be double-blind; the papers should not include the authors’ names and affiliations, or any references to web sites, project names, etc., revealing the authors’ identity. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author’s identity, should be avoided. Authors should not use anonymous citations and should not include any acknowledgments. Accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings.

Papers should be submitted electronically, in PDF format, via the LaTeCH 2015 submission website.

For more details, please visit:

** Important Dates **

Short & long paper submission deadline:           8 May 2015
Notification of acceptance:                      5 June 2015
Camera-ready papers due:                        12 June 2015
LaTeCH workshop:                                30 July 2015

** Programme Committee **

Kristín Bjarnadóttir,  Institute for Icelandic Studies, Iceland
Antal van den Bosch, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Toine Bogers, Aalborg University, Copenhagen, Denmark
Gosse Bouma, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, The Netherlands
Paul Buitelaar, DERI Galway, Ireland
Mariona Coll Ardanuy, Trier University, Germany
Thierry Declerck, DFKI, Germany
Stefanie Dipper, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
Milena Dobreva, University of Malta, Malta
Mick O`Donnell, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
Marten Düring, Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l’Europe, Luxemburg
Antske Fokkens, VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Ben Hachey, Macquarie University, Australia
Iris Hendrickx, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Elias Iosif, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Adam Jatowt, Kyoto University, Japan
Jaap Kamps, Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Vangelis Karkaletsis, NCSR Demokritos, Greece
Mike Kestemont, Antwerp University/Research Foundation Flanders, Belgium
Dimitrios Kokkinakis, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
Stasinos Konstantopoulos, NCSR Demokritos, Greece
Barbara McGillivray, Macmillan Science and Education, UK
Gerard de Melo, Tsinghua University, China
Saif Mohammad, National Research Council, Canada
Joakim Nivre, Uppsala University, Sweden
Nelleke Oostdijk, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Petya Osenova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
Jong C. Park, KAIST, Republic of Korea
Michael Piotrowski, Leibniz Institute of European History, Germany
Georg Rehm, DFKI, Germany
Martin Reynaert, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
Erik Sanders, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Marijn Schraagen, Utrecht University Digital Humanities Lab, The Netherlands
Eszter Simon, Research Institute for Linguistics, Hungary
Caroline Sporleder, Trier University, Germany
Herman Stehouwer, Max Planck Society, Germany
Takenobu Tokunaga, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Mariët Theune, University of Twente, The Netherlands
Cristina Vertan, University of Hamburg, Germany
Manolis Wallace, University of Peloponnese, Greece
Frans Wiering, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Menno van Zaanen, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
Svitlana Zinger, TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands

** Organisation **

Kalliopi A. Zervanou, Utrecht University, the Netherlands
Marieke van Erp, VU University Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Beatrice Alex, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

** Contact **

K.A.Zervanou (at)
marieke.van.erp (at)
balex (at)