Call for Papers: CMC and Social Media Corpora 2018

‘CMC-corpora 2018’ is the 6th edition of an annual conference series dedicated to the collection, annotation, processing and exploitation of corpora of computer-mediated communication (CMC) and social media for research in the humanities. The conference brings together language-centered research on CMC and social media in linguistics, philologies, communication sciences, media and social sciences with research questions from the fields of corpus and computational linguistics, language technology, text technology, and machine learning.

2018 edition

The 6th conference on CMC and Social Media Corpora will be held in Antwerp, Belgium on 17-18 September 2018. It will be hosted by the CLiPS research center (Computational Linguistics and Psycholinguistics) at the University of Antwerp.

Conference website:

Important dates

– 1st May: submission deadline

– 20th June: notification of acceptance

– 15th August: submission of camera-ready version

– 17th & 18th September: conference


Submission procedure

We invite submissions for talks and for posters or software/corpus demonstrations on any topic relevant to the list of themes (below). Contributions should be anonymized and submitted via the online conference system, and will be peer-reviewed by the scientific committee. (Visit the online submission link)

For talks, we request short papers (2-4 pages) in English, following the template which you can download here for MSWord (40 kB) or here for LaTeX (260 kB). Authors of accepted papers can present their work at the conference in a 20 minute talk followed by 10 minutes for questions and discussion. Accepted short papers will be published in online proceedings before the conference. After the conference, there will be an open call for extended papers to be published in a special issue of European Journal of Applied Linguistics (EuJAL), to appear in 2019.

For poster presentations (reserved for early stage research) or software/corpus demonstrations, we request abstracts in English (max. 500 words, bibliographical references not included). Authors of accepted abstracts can present their poster and/or give their demonstration during the poster session, which will be opened by one-minute ‘teaser talks’. Accepted abstracts will be printed in the book of abstracts.


Topics of interest

1. Development of CMC corpora

– Building CMC corpora: from data collection to publication

– Open data for research on CMC: questions of ethics and rights

– Annotation of CMC genres: representation of CMC genres, annotation of linguistic phenomena, metadata

– Multimodal corpora

– …

2. Analysis of CMC corpora

– Sociolinguistic studies of CMC

– Discourse analysis of CMC

– Linguistic characteristics of CMC

– Multimodal aspects of CMC

– Language in contact and code-switching in CMC

– CMC in language learning & teaching

– …

3. Natural Language Processing (NLP) of CMC

– Normalization

– PoS Tagging

– Lemmatization

– Syntactic parsing

– Named-entity recognition

– …


Scientific Committee


– Reinhild Vandekerckhove (University of Antwerp, Belgium)

– Darja Fišer (UL, Slovenia and Jožef Stefan Institute)



– Michael Beißwenger (UDE, Germany)

– Ciara R. Wigham (LRL, France)



– Steven Coats (University of Oulu, Finland)

– Daria Dayter (University of Basel, Switzerland)

– Orphée De Clercq (Ghent University, Belgium)

– Tomaž Erjavec (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)

– Aivars Glaznieks (EuRac Research, Italy)

– Axel Herold (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Germany)

– Veronique Hoste (Ghent University, Belgium)

– Gilles Jacobs (Ghent University, Belgium)

– Mike Kestemont (University of Antwerp, Belgium)

– Florian Kunneman (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

– Els Lefever (Ghent University, Belgium)

– Julien Longhi (Université de Cergy-Pontoise, France)

– Harald Lüngen (Institut für Deutsche Sprache, Germany)

– Lieve Macken (Ghent University, Belgium)

– Maja Miličević (University of Belgrade, Serbia)

– Nelleke Oostdijk (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

– Muge Satar (Newcastle University, United Kingdom)

– Stefania Spina (University for Foreigners, Italy)

– Egon W. Stemle (EuRac Research, Italy)

– Angelika Storrer (Universitaet Mannheim, Germany)

– Hans van Halteren (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

– Cynthia Van Hee (Ghent University, Belgium)